Santa Maria - Coronel Suárez



Colonia Tres, Kamenka, Pueblo Santa María, Santa María, Tercera


37º34' S 61º52' W


Colonia 3, or the Third Colony (Tercera), was founded in the Coronel Suárez Partido (Section) in Buenos Aires Province on 11 May 1887 and is known today as Pueblo Santa María.  It was originally named Kamenka by the first settlers, many of whom originated from that colony in Russia.

Santa María was founded by 24 men and their families:

Johann (Juan) Reser
Johann (Juan) Graff
Joseph (José) Meier
Joseph (José) Schneider
Jakob (Jacobo) Fogel
Joseph (José) Schroh
Joseph (José) Streitenberger
Friedrich (Federico) Streitenberger
Joseph (José) Meier, Jr.
Joseph (José) Schneider, Jr.
Michael (Miguel) Schneider
Johann (Juan) Schneider
Johann (Juan) Dailoff
Nikolaus (Nicolás) Walter
Joseph (José) Schmidt
Jakob (Jacobo) Schwindt
Anton (Antonio) Schwindt
Michael (Miguel) Siebenhaar
Johann (Juan) Maier
Nikolaus (Nicolás) Hasper
Gottlieb Schneider
Jakob (Jacobo) Schermer
Johann (Juan) Schwindt
Georg (Jorge) Streitenberger (unmarried)

Volga German Congregations

Iglesia Natividad de María Santísima (Catholic Church): The first wood chapel was built in 1888. The current structure was begun in 1897 with the most recent extension completed in the 1950s by artist Salvador Schneider.