31°44' S 60°32' W


Paraná, the capital of Entre Ríos Province, is located on banks of the Paraná River.  It is connected with Santa Fe, the capital of neighboring Santa Fe Province, by the Hernandarias Subfluvial Tunnel which was completed in 1969.  It's founding goes back to the construction of a chapel on the site on 23 October 1730.  It officially became a village in 1813, and served as the capital of the Argentine Confederation between 1854 and 1861.