Holy Ghost Catholic Church



2nd Street, 4 blocks west of Hwy. 27
Sharon Springs, Kansas


403 N. Main St.
PO Box 190
Sharon Springs, KS 67758-0190
Telephone: 785.852.4984


The first Catholic services held in Sharon Springs were in 1877 by Father V. Sommereisen who came out from Hays.  Mass was held in 1907 in an old brick schoolhouse.  Father Joseph Hughes was the first resident priest.

The first church building was errected in 1916.  It was located on 2nd Street, four blocks west of Main Street.  The second church, located on Main Street, was dedicated 16 April 1952.


The members of Holy Ghost Catholic Church have been served by the following priests:

Fr. Ziegenfoose
Michael Dreiling
John Schmitt
Joseph Roy
John Wolf
Henry Guesenhues
Peter O. Bergeron
Patrick Cronin
Joseph Hughes
Clement Kruse (?-1957)
William Kilian (1957-1958)
Ignatius Manzo (1958-)
Basil Torrez (?-1976)
John Walsh (1976-1980)
August Moeder (1980-?)
Norbert Dlabal



Dioceses of Salina, Kansas

The History of Wallace County, Kansas (1991).